Applying the 4-H Pledge to Our Conscious Business

4hcloverWhen I was a young girl I did not participate in many events, I guess I just did not have that kind of family. However, I did spend a year or so in 4-H. I remember making smore’s as my baking project. In the 2nd or 3rd grade they didn’t turn out perfect, but how can chocolate, marshmallow, and graham crackers go wrong?!

Recently a friend pointed out to me the significance of the 4-H pledge, and embarrassingly I had to look it up. I guess my short experience with the group didn’t allow the message to sink into the back drawers of my brain’s filing cabinet.

However, when I did look it up I was quite pleased by the message and immediately understood why she was referencing it. It is simple but powerful.

So here it is:

“I pledge my head to clearer thinking, my heart to greater loyalty, my hands to larger service, and my health to better living for my club, my community, my country and my world.”

Their motto is “To Make the Best BETTER 

If we take this simple pledge and apply it to our conscious business it completely fits (just substitute the word club for business of course J ).  

How beautiful is this pledge. A ConsciousPreneur does exactly these things, it is more than likely that you meditate to help with clearer thinking, your heart is committed to your passion and purpose, and your business serves the people in this world in a great way.

If you don’t have a mission statement or a vision for your business, I think this simple pledge can help you get clarity on why you are here, and what you are doing in your business.

Perhaps some of the ConsciousPreneur’s of today, (like myself) were yesterday’s 4-H’ers.

1 Response to “Applying the 4-H Pledge to Our Conscious Business”


  1. 1 Brandi Maine March 30, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    I love this one! It’s been years since I’ve read or recited the 4-H pledge. It’s an interesting question, I’m definitely curious how many other ConsciousPreneur’s were in 4-H..I was!


Leave a Reply

