Slowing down to speed up.

So many times our lives are going a million miles a minute that we barely have time to stop, take a break, and enjoy the fruits of our labor.

As we move through life in 5th gear, we miss the things along the way that will give us fastmore joy, peace, beauty, and compassion in our lives – swiftly moving from one action to the next we can easily get caught spinning our wheels and wind up going nowhere fast (really fast!).

At times, it is necessary to slow down in order to make those big leaps ahead, for when we slow down we are able to easily see the inspired next step, to get the big idea, to make room for creativity. When we travel so fast that we miss getting in touch with our Higher Self, opportunities are missed.

One belief that I realized recently for myself was that “in order to make good money, you have to work HARD.” Ick! – Who wants to do that. When I really look at what I want in my life, it does not involve working hard, but rather working easy, living in my purpose, and inspiring and empowering others to do the same. (I don’t want to look back in my golden years, and say “Man, I sure worked hard, but I had very little fun.”)

Slowing down gives us the opportunity to connect with Spirit/Source/God and follow divine inspiration. Slowly down helps us realize what we have to be grateful for today. Slowing down will inevitably get us there faster and easier.  Slowing down is needed to speed up.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses to “Slowing down to speed up.”


  1. 1 Michelle Salater June 23, 2009 at 12:25 am

    Thanks for this post and your wisdom. I find slowing down is the hardest thing for me to do because I’m programmed to think that fast is better. It’s slowing down to take a walk, a long bath, or taking a Friday off work that allow me to gain perspective and find inspiration.

    • 2 acostantine June 23, 2009 at 1:45 pm

      I couldn’t agree more, I think we are conditioned to think faster is better, unfortunately it takes a toll on us and we have to give ourselves permission to slow down, it’s a lesson I am constantly learning.


Leave a Reply

